Return to the Table of Contents
A savage warrior from the snow-clad realm of Norsca whose love of battle and plunder has lead him to the Worlds Edge Mountains.
Wounds | 1D6+9 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 3 |
Ballistic Skill | 5+ |
Strength | 4 |
Toughness | 3(4) |
Initiative | 3 |
Attacks | 1(+1) |
Pinning Roll | 6+ |
The Barbarian starts with the Lantern. In combat the barbarian may attempt to go berserk each turn by rolling a 6 on a d6, adding 1 to his roll for each opponent he has already slain. If he rolls a natural one, he has an abortive berserk and causes one wound to himself and any adjacent Warriors. While berserk, the Barbarian doubles his attacks.
The Barbarian is included in WQ.
Bretonnian Knight
The Questing Knight hails from the land of Bretonnia, roaming the Old World on thier Grail Quest. Seeking peril and adventure to test their knightly virtues to prove they are worthy of the Grail.
Wounds | 1D6+7 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 6+ |
Strength | 3(6) |
Toughness | 3(5) |
Initiative | 4 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 6+ |
The Bretonnian Knight starts with a mighty Broadsword which adds +3 to his strength when determining wounds. However, death blows are not as accurate because of the weight of this weapon. The knight also starts with a Questing Favour that can apply a number of different bonuses depending on what he rolls on a table.
Wounds | 3D6 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 5+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3(4) |
Initiative | 3 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 5+ |
An unusual character, the Chaos Warrior cannot use most treasure and does not gain skills when increasing in battle-level. Instead of skills, he is granted 'gifts of Chaos' in the form of Chaos Attributes (strange mutations) and Chaos Artefacts (magic items). The more Chaos Attributes (not Artefacts) he has, the harder it becomes for him to be admitted to settlements. A high amount of Chaos Attributes also increase the chance that he will be summoned away to serve the Chaos gods or become a mindless Chaos spawn, either result taking him out of the game.
Q: Does the Chaos Warrior have to be unpinned to use the Ring of Desolation,
as with a missile weapon?
A: No, it does not count as a missile weapon. The Chaos Warrior may
use it while pinned. (GWUK)
Q: How often may the Chaos Warrior use the Attribute 'Levitate?'
A: Once per turn. (GWUK)
Q: Does the Attribute 'Featureless Face' cancel the effects of other
attributes of a facial nature?
A: No. (GWUK)
Note: GW suggests that 'Featureless Face' may simply be an illusion.
Q: Does the Attribute 'Featureless Face' cancel out the "obviously manifest"
side effect of previously granted facial Attributes?
A: Yes, "obviously manifest" facial attributes previously granted are
no longer "obviously manifest," although any granted after 'Featureless
Face' will be. (GWUK)
Q: The Chaos Attribute 'Magic Resistance' gives an example of a Chaos
Warrior wearing a ring of Magic Resistance, yet on p. 5 the booklet states
that Chaos Warriors may only use potions and non-magical treasure, and
there is no Chaos Artefact Ring of Magic Resistance. Does this mean that
the Chaos Warrior is able to use magic rings as well as potions?
A: No. The Chaos Warrior may not use rings. (GWUK)
Q: Does the Chaos Warrior get death blows with the Lashing Blade?
A: No. The blade can only attack one model unless they are in an adjacent
square. (GWUK)
Q: If the Chaos Warrior is using the Lashing Blade, does he pin all
Monsters within four squares?
A: No, he only pins adjacent Monsters. (GWUK)
Wounds | 1D6+8 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 5+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 4(5) |
Initiative | 2 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 5+ |
The Dwarf starts with the Rope. A good, solid fighter the Dwarf is armed with a Great Axe. When using the Great Axe, the Dwarf rolls two dice for damage, discarding the lowest.
The Dwarf is included in WQ.
Q: When using his Great Axe, the Dwarf rolls two dice for damage and
discards the lowest. How is this handled when he goes up in level and his
damage dice increases?
A: Whatever his Damage Dice is, when the Dwarf is using the Great Axe,
he rolls one additional die. From the resulting number of dice rolled
the lowest is removed. See note on Dwarf Battle Level table RPB p. 44.
Q: If the Dwarf trips, does he cause any damage?
A: No. (GWUK)
Q: When using his Great Axe, the Dwarf rolls two dice for damage and
if they are doubles (not double ones) he adds them together rather than
taking the lower of the two away. If he gets a double one he trips over
his beard. How are these results determined when he goes up in level and
his damage dice increases?
A: The Dwarf continues to roll damage dice (whether one or more) and
an extra dice for the axe. From all of these dice he discards the
lowest unless there are two ones in which case he trips over or unless
there is a double, in which case he adds up all of the dice for
damage. (GWUK)
For example a Dwarf of battle-level 9 or 10 rolls the following:
D. DICE | AXE | RESULT | |||||
4 | 3 | 1 | + | 1 | = | A double one. The Dwarf trips over. | |
4 | 3 | 1 | + | 2 | = | The Dwarf discards the lowest (1). Total damage is 9 + Strength. | |
4 | 4 | 3 | + | 1 | = | A double. He adds up all of the dice. Total damage is 12 + Strength. | |
5 | 5 | 1 | + | 1 | = | The Dwarf trips over. |
Q: What treasure, if any, do you get for defeating the Monsters in the
extra Objective room found via the Dwarf's Stonemaster skill?
A: An Objective room treasure. (GWUK)
Wounds | 1D6+7 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 4+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3 |
Initiative | 6 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | Automatic |
The Elf starts with the Healing Potion which will restore any Warrior to full wounds when used. The Elf is never pinned and may also dodge attacks on the roll of a 6 on a d6. The Elf is an excellent archer.
Q: Is the bow the Elf starts with an 'Elf Bow' (uses Strength of Warrior)?
A: No. It is a bow which causes 1D6+3 damage. (GWUK)
Q: Is the bow the Elf start with limited to one attack per turn (as
a Long Bow), or as many attacks per turn as the user has (like a Short
Bow)?
A: It is limited to one attack per turn. (GWUK)
Q: The Elf Warrior card does not list arrows - does this mean that the
Elf does not need arrows for the bow he starts with, or does he have an
unlimited supply?
A: The Elf starts with enough arrows to last one adventure, after which
he must purchase arrows like any other Warrior. (GWUK)
Q: Can the Elf use the skill 'Leap' to leap vertically up or down a
level in a multi-level room?
A: No. (GWUK)
Wounds | 1D6+7 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 5+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3(4) |
Initiative | 5 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 3+ |
The Elf Ranger is an unusual Warrior in that he must choose to be an
Elf Ranger Knight or an Elf Ranger Mage, which affects what abilities,
skills and equipment he starts with. The Elf Ranger always starts with
scale mail armour, a sword (1D6+3) and a War Crown of Tiranoc. If he is
a Knight he starts with a bow and the Blades of Death skill. If he is a
Mage he starts with spells. The Elf Ranger may cast spells if he can roll
a certain number or above on a D6. The number he must roll to cast a spell
is dependent on the Power that turn, eg if the number rolled in the Power
Phase for power was a 3, the Ranger will need to roll a 4 or more to successfully
cast a spell. Initially, the Ranger may only attempt to cast one spell
per turn. In the Advanced game, as the Ranger progresses, whether a Mage,
or a Knight he may learn Spells and Skills. A Knight tends to roll skills
with a chance of getting spells whereas a Mage will tend to roll spells
with a chance of getting skills. Note that the Spells the Elf Ranger can
use are not the same as those of the Wizard. They are entirely new Elf
spells.
Q: If an Elf Ranger has multiple attacks and the skill 'Battle Lord,'
can he shoot, then move up to a Monster and use the rest of his attacks
in hand-to-hand combat?
A: Only if he also has the skill 'Flame of Vengeance.' (GWUK)
Q: The Elf Ranger skill 'Blades of Death' allows the Ranger to have
an additional attack if his attack hits (even if it does no damage). When
the Ranger advances in battle level and gains multiple attacks, does this
skill apply to all of his attacks, or just one?
A: The skill applies to one attack only which the player must nominate
in the Warriors' Phase before he rolls the dice. (GWUK)
Q: The Elf Ranger skill 'Cry of Vengeance' makes all of the Rangers'
hits that turn cause treble damage - is the damage trebled before or after
his Strength bonus is added?
A: The damage is trebled before the Strength bonus is added. (GWUK)
Q: Does the Elf Ranger skill 'Warning of Asuryan' work with all ambushes,
including Automatic and Magic ambushes?
A: Yes. (GWUK)
Q: The Elf Ranger skill 'Weaponlord' allows the Ranger to add '+1 Strength
dice.' What does this mean?
A: The Elf Ranger adds 1D6 to his Strength when determining damage.
(GWUK)
Wounds | 1D6+7 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 4+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3 |
Initiative | 5 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 5+ |
The Imperial Noble has the following equipment: Rapier, Ancient Heirloom and Duelling Pistol. The Rapier only causes 1D6+1 damage, but if the Noble hits (even if he doesn't cause damage) he may make another attack immediately either on that monster or another one, and so on until he misses. The Rapier has no Death blow. The Duelling Pistol causes 1D6+6 damage. To hit, the Noble counts the number of squares to his target then attempts to roll above that number on 1D6 to hit. The Ancient Heirloom causes fear (-1 for monster to hit the Noble) in one type of monster, determined randomly.
Q: How many 'Gem-Encrusted Bracelets' may the Imperial Noble wear?
A: Two. One for each arm. (GWUK)
Q: How does the skill 'Feint' work when the Imperial Noble is using
the Rapier? As the Noble can continue to attack if he does not miss, this
is potentially devastating.
A: The 'Feint' skill allows the Noble to re-roll once per Attack,
in accordance with his Attack characteristic.
For example, a Battle-level 2 Noble has an Attack characteristic of 2 and successfully rolls his required number to feint. Using the Rapier, he rolls his first strike, which hits, so he has another, and so on, until he misses - he then re-rolls (feint) and hits, so he has another, and so on, until he misses. He does not get to re-roll this miss because he has already feinted for this 'attack.' He now proceeds to his second attack. (GWUK)
Q: When determining who can be hit by the Blunderbuss, can the 2 x 2 square area of effect extend beyond the range of 6 squares as in the example below:
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | |
IN | * | * | |||||
* | * |
A: No. The 2 x 2 square area of effect must fall within the 6 square range as below: (GWUK)
1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | |
IN | * | * | ||||
* | * |
Wounds | 1D6+8 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 3 |
Ballistic Skill | 6+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3(4) |
Initiative | 3 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 5+ |
The Pit Fighter starts with Heal-Itt(sic) Potion, Pit Flail and Fist
Spike. The Fist Spike gives him +2 attacks but no death blow, however,
he may move into the square of a dead opponent when using the Spike. The
Pit Flail gives +2 strength, but on the roll of a 1 he wounds himself.
Q: If the Pit Fighter has more than one attack and is using the Fist
Spike, does he get +2 attacks for each attack he uses it, or does it only
add two attacks to his total number of attacks?
A: It adds two attacks to his total number of attacks. (GWUK)
Q: Can the Pit Fighter use both the Fist Spike and the Pit Flail?
A: No. To quote the Pit Fighter character card - 'A the start of each
turn, the Pit Fighter must declare whether he is using the Fist Spike or
the Pit Flail. He cannot use both in the same turn.'
Q: If the Pit Fighter has the skill 'surehanded,' can he use both the
Fist Spike and the Pit Flail?
A: Yes. The Pit Fighter can use any combination of weapons,
including the Fist Spike and Pit Flail when he has the skill 'surehanded'
as long as he specifies his attacks. (GWUK)
Q: If the Pit Fighter is using more than one weapon, one of which being
the Fist Spike, does it add two attacks each time it is used?
A: Whether he uses it for one or all of his attacks the Fist Spike
only adds two attacks in total. (GWUK)
Q: In the Pit Fighter booklet on p. 4 under Special Rules, it states
that the Pit Fighter has a chance to react if Monsters are placed due to
an Unexpected Event, but on p.6 in the Advanced Rules, it says that he
gets the same reaction "... at the start of any combat." Which is the case?
A: He has a chance to react to any Event, unexpected or not. It's a
reaction strike whenever Monsters are placed. (GWUK)
Q: When attempting to find a Fighting School, does the roll of 6+ apply
to all eligible Warriors, or just the Pit Fighter?
A: All eligible Warriors can find it on a 6+. (GWUK)
Q: As the Fighting School can be found on a 6+, is it possible to find
it in a village rolling on 1D6?
A: Yes this is possible. Rural Fighting Schools in small isolated villages
are quite popular. (GWUK)
Wounds | 1D6+10 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 4 |
Ballistic Skill | 6+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 4 |
Initiative | 2 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 6+ |
The Troll Slayer starts with a Rune Axe which causes an additional point of damage in combat. He may never wear armour and may only use hammers or axes.
The Troll Slayer appears in the RPB in the basic WQ set and in a separate
Warrior pack. There is only one difference between the two - the Warrior
pack Troll Slayer starts the game with three pieces of Stonebread.
Note: The Warrior pack booklet is much clearer than the RPB as regards
damage for the Rune Axe.
Wounds | 1D6+7 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 5 |
Ballistic Skill | 6+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3 |
Initiative | 6 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 3+ |
The Wardancer begins the game with the Belt of Ariel and the Twin Swords
of Orion. The Belt of Ariel either increases the Wardancers Toughness,
or deflects a blow - this is determined randomly each turn. The Twin Swords
of Orion allow the Wardancer to carry a death-blow past another Warrior
or other obstacle blocking the death-blow. The Wardancer also starts with
a skill, 'Dance of Death,' which enables him to move, fight, move, and
fight again if possible. Basically the Wardancer is able to move and fight
in any order subject to normal pinning rules and his movement/attacks characteristics.
For example, he would be able to start his turn attacking an adjacent Monster,
move to another part of the room, attack another, and then (if he has movement
and attacks left) move and attack again. He is also able to carry a death-blow
over to another monster elsewhere in the room if he is able to move within
range.
BL | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 |
WS | 5 | 5 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 6 | 7 | 7 | 8 | 8 |
Q: Can the "Aspect of the Wind" be gained on both swords, thus giving
the attack bonus for each?
A: The Wardancer gains full benifits from each sword if it is on both.(TLOM)
Wounds | 1D6+7 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 2 |
Ballistic Skill | 5+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 2(3) |
Initiative | 2 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 4+ |
The Warrior Priest starts with a Holy Book of Sigmar and a Ring of Jade.
The Holy Book of Sigmar contains blessings which the Warrior Priest reads
during play. The blessings have various effects, such as adding extra attacks,
banishing fear etc. The chance of success for a blessing is based on a
die roll in combination with the power roll for that turn. The Warrior
Priest learns new blessings as he advances in level. The ring of Jade is
able to heal the Priest and adjacent warriors under the right circumstances.
In the Advanced Rules, the Warrior Priest also has a Ring of Command which
gives him strength bonuses.
Wounds | 2D6 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 3 |
Ballistic Skill | 4+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3(4) |
Initiative | 3 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 5+ |
The Witch Hunter starts with a Sabre (+1 Str damage on a roll of 6)
and Pistol. He also starts with D6 Amulets which, depending on type, do
everything from wounding adjacent Monsters to adding to healing Wounds.
In addition, the Witch Hunter also has D6 Faith points, which can be traded
in to add +1 per point to any die roll.
Wounds | 1D6+6 |
Move | 4 |
Weapon Skill | 2 |
Ballistic Skill | 6+ |
Strength | 3 |
Toughness | 3 |
Initiative | 3 |
Attacks | 1 |
Pinning Roll | 4+ |
The Wizard starts with the Hand of Death Scroll and three spells. The Wizard may cast spells in accordance with the power rolled in the Power phase of each turn. He also has his own limited store of power which he may draw upon. The Wizard may wield swords but he cannot wear armour.
Q: Does the Wizard have to be using his staff as a weapon to gain the
+1 Toughness benefit?
A: Yes, he must be using it as a weapon to gain the Toughness benefit.
(GWUK)
Q: Does the Wizard have to be using his staff as a weapon to gain the
Power Phase re-roll?
A: It may be anywhere on his person to confer the re-roll. (GWUK)
Q: Does the Wizard have to be using his staff as a weapon in order to
draw on the Power it stores?
A: It may be anywhere on his person for him to use the stored Power.
(GWUK)
Return to the Table of Contents